The simple answer is no!
It is illegal for any individual to drive a motor vehicle in Ohio without auto insurance or other financial responsibility (FR) proof. In addition, it’s illegal for any motor vehicle owner to let anyone else drive their car without FR proof in Ohio.
According to Section 4509.101 of the Ohio Revised Code, an individual is prohibited from operating a motorized vehicle in Ohio without maintaining proof of FR continuously throughout the registration period of the vehicle. If someone who is not the owner drives the car, that person must obtain FR proof as well.
Ohio law requires the following minimums for financial responsibility:
- $12,500 for bodily injury to or death of one individual in any one accident
- $25,000 for bodily injury to or death of two or more individuals in any one accident
- $7,500 for injury to the property of others in any one accident
Auto insurance is the easiest and most affordable way to maintain proof of financial responsibility in Ohio.
Contact Burkhart Insurance Agency for a free auto insurance quote today. We’ll help you find an affordable, reliable auto insurance policy that’s right for you.